Navigation
All Databases
Access World News (NewsBank)
Alt Health Watch
Ancestry Library (In-Library Use Only)
Auto Repair Reference Center
BookFlix
Business Source Premier
Coin Career Library
Consumer Health Complete
EBSCOhost
Gale Virtual Reference Library
HeritageQuest
History Reference Center
Home Improvement Reference Center
Kids Search
LearningExpress Library
LexisNexis
Literary Reference Center
MasterFILE Premier
Mergent Online
Newspaper Source
NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus K-8
OCLC FirstSearch
Points of View
Reference USA
Searchasaurus
Something About the Author Online
Student Research Center
Thomas Register (In-Library Use Only)
World Book Online
List of Databases
Go to the database log in page.
BookFlix
Scholastic BookFlix is an online literacy resource that pairs video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks for grades preK-3.
Literary Reference Center
Find literary criticisms, biographies and reviews of your favorite authors as well as author interviews, short stories and a glossary of literary terms. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
NoveList Plus
Looking for a great fiction book? Try NoveList to find your next read. It includes book discussion guides and suggestions for titles to try based on other books and authors you have enjoyed.
NoveList Plus K-8
Reading recommendations for children in elementary and middle school.
Something About the Author Online
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.
Business Source Premier
Including current and historical information for companies located around the world, this database is an excellent resource for news articles, market research reports and much more.
Learning Express Library
Practice for an upcoming standardized test with this resource. It includes practice versions of the AP Exams, Real Estate Broker Exams, the GED and many more. The program will track your scores and explain the results to you.
LexisNexis
Articles, statistics and facts on U.S. and international companies.
Mergent Online
A business database that includes U.S. company data from 10,000 public companies, international companies, and U.S. and international company annual reports.
Reference USA
Look here first if you need contact information for a home or business located anywhere in the United States. Including more than 134 million residential and business listings, this database can be searched by name, phone number, zip code and a wide variety of other categories.
Thomas Register
Find brief descriptions and contact information for companies that provide industrial products and services as well as links to the companies' websites.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This unique database offers a large collection of digitized reference books on a wide variety of subjects. It provides the ability to use reference works from home, combined with the easy searching of an online database.
Kids Search
A searching tool that is perfect for kids in elementary and middle school. It offers simple subject searching as well as access to an encyclopedia. Additionally, it features a collection of photos and videos.
MasterFILE Premier
Search through over 1,900 full text periodicals covering all subjects from general knowledge to business to education and more. This resource includes an image database of photographs, flags and maps. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
Searchasaurus
Kids in elementary school should check out the Searchasaurus to look up information on lots of topics for school and for fun.
Student Research Center
High school students doing research will find information on all subjects in the Student Research Center. Articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and reference books are all available in this resource.
World Book Online
In addition to including the complete World Book Encyclopedia, users can also find a dictionary, an atlas, interactive activities for students and a Spanish-language encyclopedia.
Ancestry Library
This site contains a wealth of sources for genealogists. It includes over 4,000 separate databases which provide information on over two billion names. Search through census images, birth, marriage and death records and much more.
Heritage Quest Revolutionary War records, family histories and the United States census from 1790 to 1930 are just a few of the resources available to genealogy researchers on Heritage Quest.
Alt Health Watch
Discover alternative health care information and research such topics as acupuncture, reiki and living a vegetarian lifestyle. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
Consumer Health Complete
This database provides access to information about medical conditions and terminology. Researchers are also able to view medical images and explore major subjects in health and wellness.
BookFlix
Scholastic BookFlix is an online literacy resource that pairs video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks for grades preK-3.
Kids Search
A searching tool that is perfect for kids in elementary and middle school. It offers simple subject searching as well as access to an encyclopedia. Additionally, it features a collection of photos and videos.
NoveList Plus K-8
Reading recommendations for children in elementary and middle school.
Searchasaurus
Kids in elementary school should check out the Searchasaurus to look up information on lots of topics for school and for fun.
Something About the Author Online
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.
World Book Online
In addition to including the complete World Book Encyclopedia, users can also find a dictionary, an atlas, interactive activities for students and a Spanish-language encyclopedia.
Business Source Premier
Including current and historical information for companies located around the world, this database is an excellent resource for news articles, market research reports and much more.
History Reference Center
Discover history through books, magazine, and journal articles and pictures. The History Reference Center also includes primary source documents, biographies of notable persons and more than 80 hours of historical video. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
MasterFILE Premier
Search through over 1,900 full text periodicals covering all subjects from general knowledge to business to education and more. This resource includes an image database of photographs, flags and maps. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
OCLC FirstSearch
FirstSearch offers the user a group of databases which include catalogs of materials available at libraries, abstracts, and full text documents.
Points of View
Anyone doing research on a controversial subject will find the Points of View Reference Center to be a valuable resource. It features point/counterpoint essays on current news topics and supporting articles from a variety of sources.
Student Research Center
High school students doing research will find information on all subjects in the Student Research Center. Articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and reference books are all available in this resource.
Access World News (NewsBank)
Search current and archived coverage of state, national, and international
news, issues, events, people, government and more with the collection of
full-text newspapers and other news sources including:
- Chicago Sun Times (includes January 1, 1986-Current)
- Chicago Tribune (includes January 1, 1985-Current)
- Daily Southtown/Southtown Star (includes July 31, 2004-Current)
- Daily Herald (includes January 1, 1995-Current)
- New York Times (includes January 1, 1995-Current)
- Washington Post (includes January 1,1977-Current)
MasterFILE Premier
Search through over 1,900 full text periodicals covering all subjects from general knowledge to business to education and more. This resource includes an image database of photographs, flags and maps. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
Newspaper Source
Including full text articles from more than 250 U.S. and international newspapers as well as transcripts from television and radio news programs, this is an excellent place to find information on news stories from the past and present. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
Auto Repair Reference Center
Search for repair procedures, wiring diagrams, recall notices and more for
model year cars beginning in 1945 and continuing to the present.
Coin Career Library
Plan your career, build your resume or research an occupation with this
handy set of tools.
EBSCOhost
A variety of services on general and specialized topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This unique database offers a large collection of digitized reference books on a wide variety of subjects. It provides the ability to use reference works from home, combined with the easy searching of an online database.
History Reference Center
Discover history through books, magazine, and journal articles and pictures. The History Reference Center also includes primary source documents, biographies of notable persons and more than 80 hours of historical video. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
Home Improvement Reference Center
Full color pictures and step-by-step instructions accompany this unique tool for home renovators. Get advice on improving every room in your house and your landscaping as well!
Literary Reference Center
Find literary criticisms, biographies and reviews of your favorite authors as well as author interviews, short stories and a glossary of literary terms. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
MasterFILE Premier
Search through over 1,900 full text periodicals covering all subjects from general knowledge to business to education and more. This resource includes an image database of photographs, flags and maps. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
Mergent Online
A business database that includes U.S. company data from 10,000 public companies, international companies, and U.S. and international company annual reports.
OCLC FirstSearch
FirstSearch offers the user a group of databases which include catalogs of materials available at libraries, abstracts, and full text documents.
Reference USA
Look here first if you need contact information for a home or business located anywhere in the United States. Including more than 134 million residential and business listings, this database can be searched by name, phone number, zip code and a wide variety of other categories.
Student Research Center
High school students doing research will find information on all subjects in the Student Research Center. Articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and reference books are all available in this resource.
World Book Online
n addition to including the complete World Book Encyclopedia, users can also find a dictionary, an atlas, interactive activities for students and a Spanish-language encyclopedia.
Coin Career Library
Plan your career, build your resume or research an occupation with this
handy set of tools.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This unique database offers a large collection of digitized reference books on a wide variety of subjects. It provides the ability to use reference works from home, combined with the easy searching of an online database.
Learning Express Library
Practice for an upcoming standardized test with this resource. It includes practice versions of the AP Exams, Real Estate Broker Exams, the GED and many more. The program will track your scores and explain the results to you.
Literary Reference Center
Find literary criticisms, biographies and reviews of your favorite authors as well as author interviews, short stories and a glossary of literary terms. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
MasterFILE Premier
Search through over 1,900 full text periodicals covering all subjects from general knowledge to business to education and more. This resource includes an image database of photographs, flags and maps. (This database can be found in EBSCOhost Web.)
NewsBank
A database of full text articles from Chicago area newspapers. Newspapers included in this service are:
- Chicago Sun Times (includes January 1, 1986-Present)
- Chicago Tribune (includes January 1, 1985-Present)
- The Daily Herald and Daily Southtown are available for use in the library
Points of View
Anyone doing research on a controversial subject will find the Points of View Reference Center to be a valuable resource. It features point/counterpoint essays on current news topics and supporting articles from a variety of sources.
Something About the Author Online
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.
World Book Online
In addition to including the complete World Book Encyclopedia, users can also find a dictionary, an atlas, interactive activities for students and a Spanish-language encyclopedia.
14921 Ravinia Avenue, Orland Park, Illinois 60462 U.S.A.
Telephone: (708) 428-5100 • Email: askoppl@orlandparklibrary.org
Library Hours: Monday - Friday 9 AM - 9 PM • Saturday 9 AM - 5 PM • Sunday 1 PM - 5 PM
©2010 Orland Park Public Library. All rights reserved. Updated January 29, 2010.