Staff Picks Adult Fiction

« All Staff Picks

July 2021

Spoiler Alert

by Olivia Dade

Spoiler Alert is a story about a plus sized woman who gets bullied for posting a photo of herself in a cosplay dress from her favorite show, and how an actor from the show sees the harassment and invites her out to dinner. Things go well, but they both have secrets that could threaten the relationship and their jobs. Full of fandom, fanfiction, and overall geekiness, you’ll fall in love with this romance.

Recommended by: Erin Faxel, Youth Services Teen Librarian

Posted in: Adult Fiction


June 2021

The Rose Code

by Kate Quinn

This historical fiction novel takes us back to both World War II and the wedding of then Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip. Mab, Osla and Beth are three young women who are all chosen to work on code breaking at Bletchley Park in England during World War II. They are sworn to secrecy regarding their work.  As time and the war march onward, loyalties are broken, romantic liaisons are developed and emotions run high.  This book, Playaway and CD audio is available at the library and on OverDrive as an ebook.

Recommended by: Becky McCormack Youth Services Assistant Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


May 2021

Once We Were Here

by Christopher Cosmos

Beautifully written book about the Greek culture and their involvement in WWII.  It’s not only a story of war, long lasting friendship and love, but the true sacrifice and heroism shown by the Greeks during this time.  The characters were well developed and filled my heart with emotion.  I would highly recommend this book!
Recommended by: Lenore Garoufalis, Youth Services Assistant

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Storyteller’s Secret

by Sejal Badani

Jaya has just suffered her third miscarriage. Her devastation is made more intense when her marriage starts deteriorating. She makes the decision to go to India to see her dying grandfather, who she has never met, in order to better understand her past. Told in two time periods, modern day and the 30’s and 40’s, this book brings you into another culture and time period with gripping results. 

Recommended by: Becky McCormack, Youth Services Assistant Manager 

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Thursday Murder Club

by Richard Osman

The Thursday Murder Club is not like most clubs that meet each week in an idyllic retirement community. The group’s peaceful atmosphere of looking over ‘cold cases’ is rattled when two deaths expose secrets that can no longer rest within a sacred cemetery marked for the community’s expansion. This is a witty and intelligent murder mystery for fans of Agatha Christie, Sophie Hannah and Anthony Horowitz.
This book is available at the library and on OverDrive as an ebook.
Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Library Clerk

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Woman of Troublesome Creek

by Kim Michelle Richardson

Cussy Mary is known as the Book Woman and rightfully so. Not only does she brave the harsh terrain of the Appalachian Mountains to deliver books to her patrons she endures extreme discrimination for being the last of her kind .  Also known as Bluet, Cussy is the last of a people group known to have a rare blood disorder that causes their skin to appear blue. She is also one of a few librarians chosen to participate in the Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930’s .  This is a rare opportunity for women to work and help support their families as the nation battles poverty during the Great Depression. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is the story about the transformative power of books and how a dedicated librarian can bring life to a community in desperate need of hope.
This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook.
Recommended by: Darnetta Bolton, Youth Services Reference I Librarian

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Book of Lost Names

by Kristin Harmel

Eva, in her eighties, sees a photograph in a newspaper of a book that she hasn’t seen in over 60 years. The article says researchers are looking to reunite books stolen by the Nazis in World War II to their rightful owners. This particular book has a special code in it that they are eager to crack. Eva has the answers but is she willing to revisit all those past memories?

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and an audiobook on CD.

Recommended by: Becky McCormack, Youth Services Assistant Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Sun Down Motel

by Simone St. James

Two stories, separated by time and connected by location. In 1982, Viv stops in Fell, NY on her way to New York City. She trades working the night shift at the Sun Down Motel for a place to stay. Soon she gets pulled into the mystery and suspense of a small town with 3 recent murders and a haunted motel. In 2017, Carly heads to Fell, NY after her mother passes to see if she can uncover the truth about her Aunt Viv’s mysterious disappearance in 1982 and ends up working the same night shift in the motel. This dual timeline, alternating narrator novel is absolutely thrilling. Part murder mystery, part ghost story, this novel is bound to get you hooked.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive as an ebook.

Recommended by: Brandi Smits, Youth Services Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


Mother May I

by Joshilyn Jackson

You won’t have to wait long for the action to begin in this fast-paced page turner. Bree Cabbat has it all, the handsome husband, three kids, beautiful home. Her world comes crashing in as she is forced to decide what truly matters to her. What is she willing to do to keep them all safe ? Well-developed storyline that will keep you guessing until the end.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive as an ebook.

Recommended by: Theresa Hildebrand, Patron Services Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


April 2021

The Four Winds

by Kristin Hannah

Elsa feels unloved and unwanted by her family. Channeling her grandfather who told her to be brave, she buys red silk fabric and makes herself a dress. The events that follow show Elsa the importance of her grandfather’s advice. As she marries, has children and becomes a true farm wife, she also discovers the real meaning of family. When the Dust Bowl hits she must use every ounce of bravery she possesses to stay alive and protect her family.

This book is available in the library in regular and large print, as a Playaway, Book on CD and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook.

Recommended by: Becky McCormack, Youth Services Assistant Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


1 2 3 4 9