Orland Park Public Library is temporarily closed to help limit the spread of coronavirus and ensure the health and safety of our patrons and staff.

Staff Picks


April 2020

Hello Universe

by Erin Entrada Kelly

Virgil cannot work up the courage to talk to his longtime crush Valencia. On his way to his psychic friend Kaori’s house, he is pranked by the school bully Chet causing Virgil to become trapped in a well. Virgil is accompanied by nothing but his pet gerbil Gulliver and the stories his Nona has told him through the years. Valencia and Kaori must follow their instincts and clues to help lead them to find Virgil. The Universe intertwines the lives of these four characters on an adventure that leads to new friendships. Also available on Hoopla and OverDrive.

Recommended by: Vanessa Fernandez, Youth Services Reference Librarian I

Posted in: Youth Fiction


I Need A New Butt!

by Dawn McMillan

A young boy discovers he has a crack on his butt. How could something like this have happened? Now he needs to decide what kind of butt he will get, an artsy butt, a rocket butt, or an armor-plated butt. This silly book will bring lots of toots and giggles. Also available on Hoopla.

Recommended by: Vanessa Fernandez, Youth Services Reference Librarian I

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Chester Nez and the Unbreakable Code: A Navajo Code Talker’s Story

by Joseph Bruchac

Taken from the reservation and sent to a missionary school, Chester, as he is now called, has no idea that his ability to speak Navajo and English will set him on an important path in WW II. He and other “code talkers” develop a code based on the Navajo alphabet that the Japanese could not break. Learn that code on after pages in this book. Older readers will also enjoy this author’s book, Code talkers. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian I 

Posted in: Youth Biographies


Nightbooks

by J. A. White

Alex loves to write scary stories. After he is kidnapped by a witch, in order to keep himself and his new friend Yasmin alive, he must tell nightly stories to the witch. These stories within the story are frightening! This action-packed book with overtones of Hansel and Gretal will appeal to readers, and especially those who have read other books by this author. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian I

Posted in: Young Adult Fiction


Sweep: the Story of a Girl and Her Monster

by Jonathan Auxier

Since she was 6 years old, Nan Sparrow has been on her own in Victorian London. Small and quick, she becomes a chimney sweep. Her only possession is a piece of char (coal) that is always warm to the touch and comforts her. As difficulties arise around Nan, she discovers that her char is more than a lump. Exciting and engaging storytelling abounds in this book. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian I 

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Magpie Murders

by Anthony Horowitz

A book editor, Susan Ryeland, is given a manuscript written by author Alan Conway whose novels are of a famous fictional detective named ‘Atticus Pund’. While Susan is still editing, Conway suddenly and suspiciously dies which leads Susan to take a deeper look at the author’s manuscript. What about it, and his death, is making her uneasy?
This mystery is actually two stories.  Conway’s suspicious death is one part and the full manuscript featuring Atticus Pund is a second.  ‘The manuscript’ is very well written while some of the story concerning Conway seems choppy. Susan herself is not a very likable character but I admired her perseverance to get at the truth.
Mystery fans that enjoy Agatha Christie, Sophie Hannah and Lee Goldberg’s ‘Monk’ series might be interested in discussing ‘Magpie Murders.’ Also available on OverDrive.
Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


A Curious Beginning (Veronica Speedwell Series: Book 1)

by Deanna Raybourn

It is London, 1887.
Upon the death of an aunt who raised her, Veronica meets a German baron who wishes to tell her something about her parents. Veronica, who has never been curious about them would rather study butterflies and is all prepared for foreign travel. The baron convinces her to travel to London where he is soon murdered. Veronica, determined to find the Baron’s murderer, sets upon an investigation that begins to intertwine with her own unknown story. The Baron’s friend, a scientist who goes by ‘Stoker’, is a good romantic interest for Veronica and their relationship brings on witty, amusing dialogue as the story progresses. This first in a series is fast-paced and well written. I recommend the entire series featuring ‘Veronica Speedwell’. Fans of Anne Perry or Victoria Thompson might enjoy giving it a try. Also available on OverDrive.
Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


Summer of a Thousand Pies

by Margaret Dilloway

Perfect for fans of The Great British Baking Show, this book melds a tale of family, friendship, and finding one’s voice with an endless stream of tasty treats. When Candy Bennett is sent to live with an aunt she has never met in a small tourist town, she is determined not to get too settled. After all, her dad will come and get her any day. Despite her intentions, it’s only a matter of time before she winds up making friends and hundreds of pies. When she learns that her Aunt’s pie shop is in trouble, she comes up with a clever way to save the shop. A sweet tale with a likable heroine, and recipes in the index. Also available on Hoopla.

Recommended by: Kara DeCarlo​, Youth Services School Liaison

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Ember’s End (The Green Ember Series: Book 4)

by S. D. Smith

Ember Ends is the final book in the compelling Green Ember series. With immense suspense, we see how far Picket has come in his leadership and bravery. The many battles serve as a backdrop to the unfolding story of a Queen that ascended to the throne due to the death of her unknown brother, Smalls and a nation awaiting emancipation from a harsh oppressor. As the tale comes to a spectacular end,  we see the lives of our favorite characters come full circle. Hold on to your seats because you will feel as though you are on a roller coaster ride while reading the action-packed in these pages. Also available on Hoopla.

Recommended by: Darnetta Bolton, Youth Services Reference Librarian I

Posted in: Youth Fiction


On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

by Andrew Peterson

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness is the first of four books in the Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson. It is the story of three siblings who find themselves on an adventure that changes the course of their lives. While their days were once spent working on a farm, doing school work, and visiting the local bookstore, things are quickly turned upside down when they find themselves on the run from the vicious reptiles, The Fangs of Dang,  who have occupied their homeland for decades. The book was originally published in 2008 but was recently re-released with beautiful illustrations. If you love fantasy with a dash of humor this book is sure to become a favorite. Also available on Hoopla.

Recommended by: Darnetta Bolton, Youth Services Reference Librarian I

Posted in: Youth Fiction


1 2 3 17