Staff Picks


July 2024

Not About a Boy

by Myah Hollis

Mel has been in the foster-care system since the age of four. Her last chance of a placement before she turns 18 has her living with a rich couple and attending an elite school. After her co-dependent boyfriend dies of an overdose, her feelings about herself are further rocked by learning that she has a twin sister, who had been immediately adopted. Why not her? As the two sisters reconnect, Mel’s memories of her sister and mother begin to return, which only adds to her grief and self-destructive behavior. Tough topics such as death, suicide, and drug abuse are woven together in a powerful novel that offers help if someone is able to let go of the past.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Young Adult Fiction


Funny Story

by Emily Henry

Daphne loved the way Peter told the story of how they met – complete with running into a trashcan and getting noodles in her hair. Unfortunately, it was just a prelude to Peter’s true love story, which ended with him leaving Daphne before their wedding to be with his lifelong best friend, Petra.
Daphne’s real story begins in Waning Bay, Michigan, alone but with a dream job as a dedicated children’s librarian. She proposes rooming with Petra’s heartbroken ex, Miles Nowak, until she can find a better job elsewhere. Scruffy and chaotic, Miles is the opposite of buttoned-up Daphne. They avoid each other until one night, while drowning their sorrows, they form a fragile friendship.
Miles decides to show Daphne why he loves Waning Bay and its residents, posting misleading photos of their adventures for a particular audience of two. As Daphne starts to fall for the town, she wonders what this summer means: just fun, an interlude to her own love story, or merely an anecdote for future dinner parties about the time she fell for her ex-fiancé’s new fiancée’s ex-boyfriend. Who’s to say?
This book is available at the library, on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and as an e audiobook.
Recommended by: Jackie Boyd, Communications Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Inheritance Games

by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Can you imagine finding out you have inherited BILLIONS from someone you have never met? Avery Grambs goes from living out of her car to life in a luxurious mansion overnight. To become richer than she can even imagine, she must live with the Hawthorne family for an entire year – the very family who thought they would receive all that money! Will she make it out alive, or is someone out to get her? Why did billionaire Tobias Hawthorne choose her to receive his billions over his own family? Tobias Hawthorne left riddles and clues for Avery and his four grandsons to figure that out. The only note he left her said “I’m sorry.” The game is afoot!
This is a young adult book for ages 12 and up. This book is one of two books on the Sandburg High School summer reading list for 2024.
This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook.
Recommended by: Stacie Pendleton, Youth Services Assistant

Posted in: Young Adult Fiction


The Tenth Mistake of Hank Hooperman

by Gennifer Choldenko

When eleven-year-old Hank’s mother disappears once again and leaves him in charge of his sister, 3 year-old Boo, he must reach out to an old friend of his deceased grandmother for help. They are out of food, out of money and out of their apartment. Though he doesn’t know who to trust, including the old friend and the next door neighbor, and kids at his new school, Hank begins to create a new life for himself even knowing that at any time it could fall apart. Such as when his Mom returns. A realistic story that is relatable, heartbreaking, and based on some of the childhood experiences of the author.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


The Ghostly Photos

by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Once again, Haddix has written a page-turning thriller. This is the second title in the Mysteries of Trash and Treasure series. Colin and Nevaeh, founding members of the Mystery Solvers, Inc, are asked by a new girl in town to help solve a mystery about old pictures found in the attic of her home, a funeral home. There are many subplots in the book revolving around family and friendships. There is a ghost story, missing persons, death, and dementia spanning decades to resolve the mysteries. Author’s Notes give further information about the Great Depression, funerals, and dementia.

This book is available in the library and on Hoopla as an e audiobook.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Hike it : a complete guide to camping, hiking, and backpacking in the U.S.A.

by Iron Tazz

Looking for a fun family activity – try hiking! In this book, it explores 20 different national parks with diverse terrains. Great illustrated book with entry level introduction to the outdoors.  It covers everything from essential hiking equipment, fire safety and encountering wildlife.  It even covers how to go to the bathroom in the woods! Enjoy summer and the natural beauty of the USA!
Recommended by: Lenore Garoufalis, Youth Services Assistant

Posted in: Youth Nonfiction


Down The Well

by Veronica Kinng

Life is hard for Lore, her parents seem to hate her, and she’s just found out she’s moving to a new town to care for the only person that loves her unconditionally, her grandma who has fallen gravely ill. To make matters worse, once they finally get to the new town a weird dark shadow steals her necklace. As she reaches over a well to retrieve it she falls in. What will await her on the other side of the well?

Recommended by: Ayla Franco, Youth Services Assistant

Posted in: Young Adult Fiction


The Tryout

by Christina Soontornvat

Christina and her best friend, Megan, are trying to survive middle school. As if that isn’t hard enough, they are both daughters of immigrants who stick out and want nothing more than to fit in. They see cheerleader tryouts as their ticket to popularity and acceptance, but they soon find out it’s a lot more work than they originally anticipated. Not to mention, if they make it to the second round of tryouts, they have to perform in front of the entire seventh grade! Will these best friends make the squad? Will their friendship survive the competition? Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Maria Scrivan will be sure to enjoy The Tryout by Christina Soontornvat.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook and Hoopla as an e audiobook.

Recommended by: Erin Cady, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


The Getaway

by Lamar Giles

Jay and his family live and work at Karloff Country, one of the world’s most famous resorts. (Picture Karloff Country as sort of like Disney World.) Life at Karloff is pretty good, especially compared to the rest of the world. Those who can afford to escape the bad in the world, go to Karloff Country to vacation. Trouble starts to seep into Karloff, beginning with the disappearance of Jay’s friend Connie. As more and more workers disappear, and more and more rich people start to arrive, Jay and his remaining friends know something is up. They soon find out that Karloff has been selling shares to an end of the world safe zone, and they’re the ones who will be serving everyone, whether they like it or not. As things get worse inside of Karloff Country it’s up to Jay and his friends to try and stop the madness. If they succeed are they ready to face the horrors going on outside of their walls though?

Recommended by: Erin Faxel, Youth Services Teen Librarian

Posted in: Young Adult Fiction


Rez Ball

by Byron Graves

Tre loves playing basketball, even though it can be a sore spot. His brother Jaxson was a star player on the Red Lake Reservation High School team, before he died in an accident. Tre works hard and is ready to move up to varsity and take his brother’s old spot. His goal is to help the reservation win their very first state title, and then eventually make it to the NBA. Being in his big brother’s shadow though is tough. There’s no room for mistakes. Not on the court or off. Will Tre find a way to fill his brother’s shoes? Will he be able to find his own path? Pick up this awesome sports story and find out.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook and on Hoopla as an e audiobook.

Recommended by: Erin Faxel, Youth Services Teen Librarian

Posted in: Young Adult Fiction


1 2 3 92