On Sunday, Nov. 27 from 2 to 4:45 p.m., please enter the library parking lot via the 149th Street entrance, as the library’s other parking lot entrances will be closed for the Village of Orland Park Holiday Festival Parade.

Staff Picks Adult Fiction

« All Staff Picks

May 2020

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires

by Grady Hendrix

It’s the 1990’s. Patricia is your normal southern housewife who has an obsession with true crime books. James Harris is Patricia’s new neighbor. Being a good southern hostess and neighbor, Patricia invites James into her home and introduces him to her family. Soon after, she begins to notice strange things about James. Sunshine and bright lights hurt his eyes and his body reacts strangely to the southern heat. At times he seems deathly ill, other times he seems fit and healthy. Patricia eventually goes to her friends at book club with her suspicions. She tells them that James is their worst fear….he is a drug dealer selling to their children. Wouldn’t that explain the recent deaths of a few local children? What Patricia can’t say is that James is much worse…he is a vampire….and the book club women must come together to battle an unthinkable evil. Can the women succeed or will James divide and conquer? Author Grady Hendrix has created a dark, suspenseful, and mature horror/thriller in this story, but he never forgets it’s about the ladies and their book club.  Hendrix easily weaves their book club selections into witty conversations and the overall story.  This is a great read for 2020. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


The Break

by Katherena Vermette

This is not an uplifting book. Be forewarned. It has a trigger warning stating the book is about recovering and healing from violence. That being said, the author, of Metis heritage, gives us a look inside this Canadian culture. The book begins with an extensive family tree which is helpful as the story shifts between narratives. Pick this book if you like multigenerational family stories with drama and mystery. 

Recommended by: Becky McCormack, Youth Services Assistant Manager

Posted in: Adult Fiction


April 2020

Death Overdue: A Haunted Library Mystery

by Allison Brook

Carrie has recently taken on the position of programs and events director at a library in Connecticut. When one of her first programs abruptly ends with the guest speaker’s death, Carrie wonders if she should have even taken the job. Who could have wanted the speaker, a former police detective, dead? As a murder investigation begins, Carrie must deal with library politics, learn to manage her support staff, handle date nights with a cute guy, and his complicated family as well as look into the suspicious death of a former library aide. And if that isn’t enough on Carrie’s plate, there is also a library ghost! Thank goodness it’s a friendly one! Fans of Victoria Gilbert or Jenn McKinlay might like this ghostly cozy mystery. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


A Cry in the Dark (Carly Moore: Book 1)

by Denise Grover Swank

Carly, a young woman with a brand new identity, is on the run from a family mired down in shady business dealings. But while on the road to a new town, her car breaks down. Carly then meets a handsome tow-truck driver, takes on a part-time job, witnesses a murder and then becomes the target of those murderers. A few bad people, in this small, forgotten town in the Smoky Mountains, think she’s someone she’s not. So she’ll have to solve a murder to prove them wrong. And while all this goes on around her, she worries that someone may recognize her. Will she find the chance to get back on the road before her father finds her? If you enjoy suspense with some light romance, this might be the series for you. Available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


Terns of Endearment

by Donna Andrews

Meg and family join Meg’s grandfather Dr. Blake, on a cruise in which he will be giving lectures. All seems to be going well until a famous writer falls overboard. Was it a suicide, the curse of the Bermuda Triangle, or foul play? Also available on Hoopla.

Recommended by: Holly Balasa, Youth Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


Someone to Remember

by Mary Balogh

Lady Matilda has spent her life dutifully caring for her mother. Due to recent family marriages and expanding acquaintances, Matilda’s circle now includes Charles Sawyer who she hasn’t seen since they were 20 years old and courting. Their courtship ended but her heart never stopped loving him. Charles, who is an especially charming and thoughtful character in this story, reaches out to Matilda. He sets the stage for romance with their shared memories and a renewed hope for their future….together. This novella, with a historical setting, is an especially sweet romance. Fans of Julia Quinn will not be disappointed in trying Mary Balogh. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


Chasing Cassandra

by Lisa Kleypas

What happens when a man who has everything money can buy starts to fall in love? For Tom, a businessman who rose from nothing, a decision to marry is not an easy one. He is not a hard man but he doesn’t think he knows how to love a wife. And when he chooses a woman who would make a good wife, that woman would prefer to love him or just not have him at all. While its title mentions ‘Cassandra’, this story is more about Tom, his childhood, and an orphan he begins to mentor. It takes ‘Cassandra’ to show our hero Tom that he does know how to love. Lisa Kleypas’ stories can always stand on their own even if part of a series. This is a great read for those who enjoy historical romance along the lines of Tessa Dare and Sarah MacLean. Also available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Michelle Przekwas, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


My Hero Academia (Volume One: Vigilantes)

by Hideyuki Furuhashi

Izuku Midoriya is a powerless boy in a superhuman society. His friends (if he can even call them that) have all left him in the dust with their quirks. Until one fateful day he meets his personal hero the pillar of justice himself, All Might and his world is changed forever. A brilliant story with volumes upon volumes to spare it’s a great story of triumph over adversity. The first volume is available on OverDrive.

Recommended by: Kevin Carroll, Adult Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


This Earl is Mine

by K. C. Bateman

Will a false marriage lead to true and lasting love? In the first book of the Bow Street Bachelors– men who work undercover for London’s first official police force-and the women they serve to protect…and wed? When shipping heiress Georgiana Caversteed hatches a madcap scheme to marry a man before he is executed so she can become a widow. Who would have thought she would pick the wrong man? After his supposed execution Benedict runs into his widow weeks later at a society gathering and now will do anything to win her heart for he already has her hand.

Recommended by: April Balasa, Patron Services Clerk

Posted in: Adult Fiction


Death of a Gigolo

by Laura Levine

Jaine’s life is finally coming up roses. She is back with her ex, she gets a fabulous job co-writing with a famous romance writer. Life is good, until the much younger man the romance writer is seeing end up dead. Now Jaine must find the killer. What could go wrong? Also available on Hoopla.

Recommended by: Holly Balasa, Youth Services Shelver

Posted in: Adult Fiction


1 4 5 6 7 8 9