Staff Picks Youth Fiction

« All Staff Picks

July 2024

The Tenth Mistake of Hank Hooperman

by Gennifer Choldenko

When eleven-year-old Hank’s mother disappears once again and leaves him in charge of his sister, 3 year-old Boo, he must reach out to an old friend of his deceased grandmother for help. They are out of food, out of money and out of their apartment. Though he doesn’t know who to trust, including the old friend and the next door neighbor, and kids at his new school, Hank begins to create a new life for himself even knowing that at any time it could fall apart. Such as when his Mom returns. A realistic story that is relatable, heartbreaking, and based on some of the childhood experiences of the author.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


The Ghostly Photos

by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Once again, Haddix has written a page-turning thriller. This is the second title in the Mysteries of Trash and Treasure series. Colin and Nevaeh, founding members of the Mystery Solvers, Inc, are asked by a new girl in town to help solve a mystery about old pictures found in the attic of her home, a funeral home. There are many subplots in the book revolving around family and friendships. There is a ghost story, missing persons, death, and dementia spanning decades to resolve the mysteries. Author’s Notes give further information about the Great Depression, funerals, and dementia.

This book is available in the library and on Hoopla as an e audiobook.

Recommended by: Joan Stoiber, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


The Tryout

by Christina Soontornvat

Christina and her best friend, Megan, are trying to survive middle school. As if that isn’t hard enough, they are both daughters of immigrants who stick out and want nothing more than to fit in. They see cheerleader tryouts as their ticket to popularity and acceptance, but they soon find out it’s a lot more work than they originally anticipated. Not to mention, if they make it to the second round of tryouts, they have to perform in front of the entire seventh grade! Will these best friends make the squad? Will their friendship survive the competition? Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Maria Scrivan will be sure to enjoy The Tryout by Christina Soontornvat.

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook and Hoopla as an e audiobook.

Recommended by: Erin Cady, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Hooky

by Míriam Bonastre Tur

Dani and Dorian are witches learning to navigate the world of magic around them, but missing the first day of school leads to a series of mishaps which complicates their lives even further! The journey the sister and brother take will have them cross paths with royalty, dragons and more in this fantasy-inspired adventure. Bonastre Tur’s webcomic/manga-inspired artwork invites us in to a captivating world full of humor, heart and tween-appropriate romance. All 3 graphic novels in the Hooky trilogy are available at the Orland Park Public Library.

Recommended by: Alex Papas, Youth Services Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


June 2024

Ava Lin Best Friend!

by Vicky Fang

Getting ready for 1st grade? This is a great beginning chapter book with large font and pictures on each page.  While Ava is excited to start 1st grade, what she really wants is a new best friend.  Ava encounters fun first, explores her creativity and finally gains a new best friend.  Young readers will find this new series funny and relatable.
Recommended by: Lenore Garoufalis, Youth Services Assistant

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Medusa

by Katherine Marsh

Ava has some trouble controlling her temper in school. When she explodes in class, her parents decide to send her and her brother to a boarding school. Almost immediately not everything is as it seems. Ava soon discovers that she is a descendant of a mythical monster. Things start spiraling out of control once Ava begins to understand her powers. When Ava uncovers that the school is hiding a dangerous secret the story really takes off. 

This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook.

Recommended by: Becky McCormack, Youth Services Assistant Manager

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Willow the White House Cat

by Jill Biden

Fun book authored by first lady Jill Biden and filled with wonderful illustrations.  It shares with us the life of Willow, a shorthaired cat adopted from a farm in Pennsylvania by President Joe Biden, and First Lady, Jill Biden and named after Jill Biden’s hometown of Willow Grove, Pennsylvania.  Now living in the White House, Willow meets many of the special people who work there and spends her days exploring the many rooms that make up the White House.  Not just for children, this book should be enjoyed by all ages.

Recommend by: Denise Mitchel, Patron Services Clerk

Posted in: Youth Fiction


City Spies, Book 1

by James Ponti

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a kid spy?  Kids are smart and funny, but most of all adults do not suspect they are on a mission to save the world from destruction. City Spies, Book 1 , by James Ponti is a thrilling story that follows a group of kid spies as they seek to save the world from an international hacker scheme. Each kid spy has a unique story similar to the main character, Sarah Martinez,  who was stuck in the New York Foster system for years before being recruited to join the team. Will Sarah fit in among this unique group of kids? Are her hacking skills up to snuff? Can she conquer her fear of heights in Paris, the City of Lights? You’ll have to read the book to find out.
This book is available in the library and on OverDrive/Libby as an ebook and e audiobook.

Recommended by: Darnetta Bolton, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Forever Neverland

by Susan Adrian

Forever Neverland by Susan Adrian is an exciting new tale of Peter Pan’s Neverland. Siblings, Clover and Fergus, are the descendants of the original Wendy and anxiously await their turn to visit Neverland while staying with their grandparents. Clover isn’t sure if they should go at all, but Fergus, who has autism and is often misunderstood in the mortal world, is ready for an adventure. He fits right in with the lost boys, while Clover has some difficulties, but nothing compares to the mythological gods they end up against! Their story keeps you on edge the entire time turning the pages quickly for more. Fans of Rick Riordan will feel right at home.

Recommended by: Erin Cady, Youth Services Reference Librarian

Posted in: Youth Fiction


Harriet Spies

by Elana K. Arnold

If you read “Just Harriet” then you will enjoy Arnold’s second novel called “Harriet Spies”.  It’s a great summer read about Harriet who is spending the summer with her grandmother while helping out at her grandmother’s bed-and-breakfast.  As the summer goes on, Harriet finds herself with a mystery to uncover.  Along the way, she learns what it means to be honest and how to be a good friend.  Perfect life lesson for little ones.
Recommended by: Lenore Garoufalis, Youth Services Assistant

Posted in: Youth Fiction


1 2 3 34